31 March 2010

EC Updates Banned Airlines List

The 13th update is now out

Interestingly a few airlines got clean bills of health but in general the list was expanded. The latest airline to get "restricted" is Iran Air.

All carriers from 17 countries – 278 companies in total – are banned: Angola, Benin, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, (with the exception of three carriers which operate under restrictions and conditions), Indonesia, Kazakhstan (with the exception of one carrier which operates under restrictions and conditions), the Kyrgyz Republic, Liberia, Philippines, Republic of Congo, Sierra Leone, Sao Tome and Principe, Sudan, Swaziland and Zambia. 10 air carriers are allowed to operate under restrictions and conditions - Air Koryo from the Democratic People Republic of Korea, TAAG Angola Airlines, Air Astana from Kazakhstan, Iran Air from Iran Gabon Airlines, Afrijet and SN2AG from Gabon, Air Bangladesh, Air Service Comores and Ukrainian Mediterranean Airlines from Ukraine. A further few airlines are also included outside this list.

For the full list go here:


Many companies ban their employees from flying on these airlines irrespective of where they fly. So it is important to note this airline list. There are a few players here who are commonly used carriers readily available in GDSs or other distribution tools. It is important therefore to check your current company policy compliance if you are a flyer. For a company HR and/or risk assessment company providing insurance coverage for staff - it would be important to remind people of the necessity of compliance to existing conditions.



No comments: